Cottoning On 

For me, one of the best things about summer, apart from the obvious warmer weather (Yes! We’ve actually had some in the North East too recently!) is that feeling of total freedom when it comes to fashion and style.

I’m a total hippie at heart and so when summer comes around I feel more confident and even more experimental with my fashion choices. It becomes less about layering and more about that light, easy way of dressing, where fabrics are floaty and legs are bare. 

Normally, I like to wear more closely fitted clothing, at least on the top of my body, with being small I try to show my waist as I’m quite petite. But recently, I’ve found myself falling for much looser fitting dolly style dresses, which seem to be pretty much plaguing the shops at the moment whether they be in pure white fabrics or striped nautical patterns. And you can see why. I mean, what’s better than a thin, crisp cotton dress to keep you cool in the humid summer air? 

I spotted this beauty a couple of weeks ago in Primarni (for £13!!!!) and was heartbroken that my size was gone, but praise to the gods of fashion, I managed to get my mitts on one this week. 


It’s a bit of a different look for me as it’s super oversized, but because of the fitted sleeves and the shorter hemline, it’s still really flattering. 

I adore the flared half sleeves and the gorgeous leafy embroidery on its bodice, which adds a hint of colour and detail and a bit of a vintage vibe. 


I styled my dress with a mini statement cross body bag, matching the blue of the embroidery, and wore my favourite seventies suede platforms to keep the look a bit more retro boho. Though, it would also look great with vans or sandals. 

It really is one of those great transitional pieces for exploring through the day or for attending barbecue garden parties on a night. 



The cotton dress really is the go-to garment of Summer ’17, and if this number’s not your vibe you can also check out these pretty little wonders below…

Happy shopping! 

Kate xx

Image copyright Vintage Style Me

Cactus Smock, £46, Vintage Style Me 

Image copyright Joanie Clothing

Gingham Dress, £38, Joanie Clothing

Image copyright Nobody’s Child
Tie Shoulder Poplin Dress, £25, Nobody’s Child

Image copyright Mango

Puffed Sleeve Dress, £19.99, Mango

Leave a Reply

